Florida Criminal Defense & Family Law Attorney
Call Now to Schedule a Consultation 352.503.4111

The Villages, Florida: Can You Get a DUI on a Golf Cart?

A 45-year old man was recently arrested for driving a golf cart with a blood-alcohol level 3 times over the legal limit. The arresting officer treated this discovery as he would any other discovery of a person driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol: as a DUI.

In the state of Florida, a person can be arrested and charged with DUI if found driving a golf cart while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Florida DUI Laws

According to Fla. Stat. §316.003(97), a vehicle is defined as “[any] device in, upon, or by which any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a highway, except personal delivery devices and devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks.” This definition is incredibly broad, however, it’s safe to say that if you are caught operating any vehicle while under the influence of a substance, you may face a DUI charge.

In Florida, people have been arrested for operating the following while under the influence:

  • bicycles;
  • lawn mowers;
  • ATVs;
  • wheelchairs;
  • golf carts;
  • mopeds; and
  • horses.

Penalties for a DUI

Florida has the strictest DUI penalties in the country, and they increase with the amount of convictions a person has. If your blood alcohol level is .08 or higher, you will be arrested and possibly convicted of a DUI.

DUI convictions are as follows:

  1. First Offense Conviction
  • Fine between $500 and $1,000;
  • Imprisonment between 8 hours and 6 months; or
  • If your alcohol level was .15 or greater, you could face a fine of up to $2,000 and/or a maximum jail sentence of 9 months.
  1. Second Offense Conviction
  • Fine between $1,000 and $2,000;
  • Imprisonment up to 9 months;
  • If your conviction occurs within 5 years of a prior conviction, you will face a mandatory imprisonment sentence of at least 10 days;
  • Maximum 5-year driver’s license revocation;
  • Vehicle impoundment of up to 30 days;
  • Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle;
  • Mandatory DUI classes;
  • If your alcohol level was .15 or greater, you could face a fine between $2,000 and $4,000 and/or a maximum jail sentence of 1 year.
  1. Third Offense Conviction
  • Fine between $2,000 and $5,000;
  • Up to 5 years in a state prison;
  • Up to 10 years of driver’s license revocation;
  • Up to 90 days of vehicle impoundment;
  • Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle;
  • Mandatory DUI classes;
  • Permanent felony conviction;
  • Up to 50 hours of community service or a fee of $10 per service hour; or
  • If your alcohol level was .15 or greater, you could face a minimum fine of $4,000 and/or a mandatory jail sentence of 30 days or more.
  1. Fourth Offense Conviction (or more)
  • Fine between $2,000 and $5,000;
  • Up to 5 years in state prison;
  • Up to 5 years of probation;
  • Lifetime driver’s license revocation;
  • 90-day vehicle impoundment;
  • Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle;
  • Mandatory DUI classes;
  • Permanent felony conviction;
  • Up to 50 hours of community service.

Law Office of Jody L. Fisher – Representation You Can Count On

Our DUI defense attorney is dedicated to helping you fight your charges. Attorney Jody L. Fisher has previous prosecution experience and can anticipate how a judge may handle your case. This line of thinking enables us to construct a solid defense, capable of withstanding courtroom arguments.

Call our firm today at (352) 503-4111 or contact us online to schedule your consultation.

Categories: