Leesburg Multiple DUI Attorney
Defense You Can Count On
Many people are shocked to learn that a first-time DUI is actually a second-degree misdemeanor. This means that you can be charged with a felony for a third DUI, even if it is your first DUI offense. It does not matter how long ago your previous DUI conviction was. If you are charged with a third DUI, you will face a third-degree felony charge that comes with a mandatory prison sentence of up to five years. If you are convicted of a third DUI, you could also be facing a $10,000 fine. Let our Leesburg DUI attorney help you fight these serious charges.
What Are the Penalties for a Third DUI in Florida?
The penalties for a third DUI in Florida will depend on whether you have been convicted of a DUI in the past. If this is a first DUI offense, you will face a first-degree misdemeanor charge. This is the lowest level of misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine. If this is a second DUI, you will face a second-degree misdemeanor charge. This is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. However, if this is a third DUI, you will face a third-degree felony charge. This is punishable by up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. You will also have to pay up to $2,500 in court costs and fees.
How Does a Third DUI Affect My License?
If you are convicted of a third DUI, you will lose your driver's license for at least one year. If you are convicted of a second DUI, you will lose your driver's license for at least 18 months. You may also have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle if you are convicted of a DUI. This device prevents your car from starting if you have been drinking. You will have to pay a one-time installation fee as well as a monthly fee for the use of this device.
How Can You Fight a Third DUI Charge in Florida?
There are several defenses that can be used to fight a third DUI charge in Florida. The two most common defenses are lack of probable cause and lack of intent. For example, if the police stop was illegal, the evidence against you may be excluded from your case. This means that the evidence may be inadmissible in court, which could result in a dismissal of the charges.
Contact Our Leesburg DUI Defense Attorney Today
If you are facing a third DUI charge, you need to speak with an experienced Leesburg DUI defense attorney right away. The Law Office of Jody L. Fisher can help you fight your third DUI charges. Attorney Fisher has helped countless people in the Leesburg area fight their DUI charges. He will work to get your DUI charge reduced or dropped and defend you in court.
Contact our Leesburg third DUI attorney today to schedule your free consultation.