In Florida, operating a boat while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is illegal. If you were charged with this offense, you could be looking at fines and jail time. Because the state’s laws are complex and dynamic, it’s important to have a skilled lawyer on your side who can guide you through the process and provide sound legal advice every step of the way.
At the Law Office of Jody L. Fisher, we are ready to provide the aggressive defense you need to fight charges and avoid the consequences of a conviction. Our lawyer has over 17 years of experience and served as a prosecutor. With this unique insight, we know how the other side prepares for cases and what they have to prove to land a conviction. We will leverage our knowledge and skills to develop a personalized legal strategy for your circumstance and challenge the evidence against you.
Discuss your case with us by calling (352) 503-4111.
Boating Under the Influence Defined
If you operate a boat and have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher, or you have consumed an amount of drugs and/or alcohol that impairs your ability to safely control the vessel, you could be arrested for boating under the influence. However, if you are 21 years of age or younger, you cannot operate a boat with any drugs or alcohol in your system.
Although officers can typically tell who was driving a vehicle, when it comes to boats, the operator might not be so clear. As such, Florida Statute 372.02 defines an operator as the person in charge, command, or physical control of a vessel. That means if you own or rent a boat, you could be arrested for a DUI even if you weren’t steering it.