What Is a Hardship License & Why Might You Need One?
People generally apply for a hardship license after their license is suspended or revoked. Your license can be suspended or revoked if you:
- Owe child support arrears
- Accumulate too many points on your license (ie. 12 points in 12 months means a 30-day suspension, 18 points in 18 months means a 3-month suspension, etc.)
- Have too many traffic infractions/violations
- Do not appear in court or pay a mandated fine
- Are convicted for a DUI or certain drug offenses
- Fail to submit the required vision test results
Losing your ability to drive can drastically impact your ability to work or receive services you need (i.e. medical treatment, etc.). Where you are allowed to drive will depend on whether you apply for a work purposes only or business purposes only license.
Work purposes only hardship licenses only allow drivers to drive to and from their job; if their job requires them to drive (i.e. delivery driver, taxi, etc.), a work purposes only license would also allow them to complete those duties. A business purposes only license allows drivers to travel to community-based activities, including:
- To and from their place of employment (as well as to complete job responsibilities)
- To and from school
- To and from medical appointments
To and from church or a religious service
Who Is Ineligible for a Hardship License in Florida?
Not everyone who has their license suspended or revoked can obtain a hardship license. You are not eligible for a Florida hardship license if you:
- Were involved in DUI accident that resulted in serious bodily injuries
- Have been charged or convicted of vehicular manslaughter or criminal vehicular manslaughter
- Lost and are seeking to reinstate your commercial driver’s license (CDL)
- Are a second or subsequent time offender convicted of a DUI
- Have refused a breathalyzer test two or more times
Obtaining a Florida Hardship License
To obtain a hardship license, you will need to complete and file an application with the DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles). You will also need to enroll in or complete either an Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course or a DUI substance abuse education course before filing your application (which course you take depends on why your license was revoked or suspended). You will have to attend a hearing at the DHSMV office during which your application and case you review and a determination will be made concerning whether you will be awarded a hardship license. If you are approved, you can take your approval letter to your local DMV to get a physical license.
How Much Does a Hardship License Cost in Florida?
If you apply to get a hardship license, you will have to pay the filing fee as well as other costs. You should anticipate having to cover the following costs.
- The fee for your ADI or DUI course (cost varies)
- The filing fee for a hardship license ($12)
- Administrative fees for your specific offense (cost varies)
- Drivers license reinstatement fee ($45 for suspension, $75 for revocations)
Get Legal Help
At the Law Office of Jody L. Fisher, our team has over 20 years of legal experience. If your license is suspended, we can help you understand your eligibility for a hardship license and the license reinstatement process. We understand how inconveniencing losing your license can be, especially when you need to drive to school or work and support yourself and/or your family.
Attorney Fisher is also an experienced litigator and negotiator, and our team can help you understand your legal options and the potential consequences of a conviction for:
- A DUI-related offense
- Traffic violations
- Driving without a license
To learn more about how we can help you, contact our firm online or call (352) 503-4111.